Sports News

GFA Increases Prize Money Of 2023/2024 Ghana Premier League

The President of the Ghana Football Association (GFA), Kurt Okraku, has unveiled plans to enhance the prize money for the victors of the Ghana Premier League in the upcoming 2023/2024 league season.

This announcement was made during the launch of the new league campaign, held on August 29, 2023, at the Eastern Premier Hotel in Koforidua, Eastern Region.

During the previous season, Medeama Sporting Club secured the championship and received a prize of GH¢300,000, a figure that drew criticism within the football community. Many believed this sum to be inadequate and not reflective of the premier team in Ghana.

In light of this, Mr. Okraku’s recent declaration indicates that the champion of the 2023/24 league season will receive an increased prize of GH¢500,000, along with a trophy and 40 medals.

The runner-up will be presented with GH¢200,000, while the third-place team will obtain GH¢100,000. Mr. Okraku highlighted that this season’s alterations will also encompass cash rewards for the clubs concluding the season in the 4th to 10th positions.

His intention is to amplify the competitive spirit of the league in the forthcoming campaign.

“To increase the competitiveness of the league, the Ghana Football Association will reward from the first to the 10th place in the 2023/24 betPawa Premier League,” he said.

In earlier instances, Accra Hearts of Oak clinched a prize of GH¢250,000 for their victory in the 2020/21 season. Subsequently, Kumasi Asante Kotoko secured the same sum for their first-place position in the subsequent season.

The previous season brought a marginal increase, as Medeama SC emerged as champions and earned a prize of GH¢300,000 for their remarkable performance.

See also  UEFA Champions League draw 2023/24: Biggest winners and losers

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button